04/08/2012 12:45

No Catholic priests in the new PNG Parliament

“The letter from the Bishops on Priests and Politics (24 April 2012) had an effect on the people as they did not elect any priest as a parliamentarian”. This is what the General Secretary of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of Papua New Guinea and Solomon Islands, Fr Victor Roche SVD, had to say as the new PNG Parliament convened today, 3 August at the end of the electoral process.

Mr. Peter O’Neill, leader of the People’s National Congress Party and MP for Ialibu-Pangia Open, was elected Prime Minister with a 94-12 majority.

Earlier at around 10:30 am, Mr. Theodore Zurenuoc, from the People’s Progress Party and MP for Finchaffen Open, was elected as the Speaker of Parliament and sworn in by Governor General Sir Michael Ogio.

So far 108 Members of Parliament have been declared out of a total of 111 seats.

The Parliament is adjourned to 21 August.

(CBC Communications 030812 – giorgiolicini@yahoo.com)