10/05/2014 05:24

PNG/SI Catholic Bishops' Conference: New President - Bp. Arnold Orowae/ Deputy President - Abp. Steve Reichert

The Catholic Bishops of Papua New Guinea and Solomon Islands (CBC-PNG/SI) in their Annual General Meeting (1-9 May 2014) elected Bp. Arnold Orowae of Wabag as the new President of the CBC-PNG/SI. The Deputy President is Abp.Steve  Reichert of Madang. They serve through the Central Committee, which is elected every three years. The members are: Bp. Arnold Orowae, Abp.Steve Reichert, Bp.Rochus Tatamai of Bereina, Bp.Gilles Cote' of Daru-Kiunga and Abp.Douglas Young (Finance).

The Bishops also elected the other office holders of different Commissions of the CBC.

On Tuesday, 6 May the Committee set up by the National Executive Council (NEC) of PNG Government for the resettlement of Asylum Seekers, addressed the Bishops and listened to their views on the issue. Lady Kidu, the Chairperson of this Committee, Abp.John Ribat, the Church Representative and others shared their findings. The Committee is expected to give their report to the NEC in a week time.

The Bishops also discussed the issues on Education (presented by Fr. Paul Jennings),  Health (Mr. Pascoe Kase of the National Department) and Conference Pastoral Plan (Fr. Roger Purcel).